I know better than to eat nuts when I have diverticulitis, but I did it anyway.  I was visiting a friend Thursday and she had almonds I was snacking on.  Eating nuts when you have diverticulitis can cause a flare up.  And I've definitely been suffering from a flare up since yesterday.  What made it worse was that I kept forgetting to take my fiber this week. 

These flare ups are horrible.  I feel feverish, I shake, and I'm so constipated that I feel like I have rocks in my gut.  I've been this way since yesterday, but I'm starting to feel better.  I've taken the maximum dose of fiber capsules today.  I didn't exactly eat good this afternoon, though.  I didn't wake up until almost noon and I ate a meatball sandwich from Subway for my breakfast/lunch.  I had a salad and some marinated flat steak for dinner. 

I've got the munchies right now, but I'm feeling too lazy to look for something to snack on.  That's probably a good thing.  I need to go to the store tomorrow and buy some low carb snacks.  I just created a page with a list of low carb snacks.  I'm going to have to print that list and take it with me to the store.  Dieting really is hard, but I can do this.
sandra
1/19/2013 09:07:57 pm

Sorry to hear you had a bad day yesterday. Hope you're all better soon. You are doing great sticking to your diet. Not sure I wouldn't have given up already.
I don't have a sweet tooth. I have a salty tooth. I love to snack on chips and such. Although this past summer I did get hooked on fruits for the first time in my life (particularly blackberries, green grapes and strawberries) but good gosh, they are so expensive to buy. Its so much cheaper to eat bad than it is to eat healthy.
Do you have an Applebees near where you live? They have a new Chicken Baja dish that is under 550 calories that is awesome. Other than that I have a hard time eating healthy when eating out too.
I guess I just have no willpower.
What do you eat out at restaurants that is healthy? Would love some ideas.

Reply
Mary McFadden
1/21/2013 03:03:11 pm

Sticking with this diet hasn't been easy. I have lost 13 lbs though. My husband and I are doing the low carb think. So when we go out to eat we usually order a salad with meat in it...like a grilled chicken salad. We like to go to Wingers and order spicy chicken wings and a side salad.

Most fruit is high in carbs, but the ones you mentioned have the least amount of carbs (when bought fresh, not frozen, or canned). I never eat more than 1/2 a cup of berries in any day, but most of the time I don't buy them because they are too expensive.

You're right, eating healthy is expensive. I read a stupid article once that said eating healthy is not more expensive that eating bad. They were wrong. That has been the hardest part about dieting. My food bill has definitely gone up. It sucks.

Reply
8/17/2020 10:21:54 am

an attack of such a severe disease can be life-threatening

Reply



Leave a Reply.