I'm not really fond of the word lazy.  I prefer the word unmotivated. If I lose my keys and I ask my kids to look for them, they will wander around picking up an item or 2 and look under it, then announce that they can't find them.  However, as soon as I offer $2 to the person who finds them, they will turn my house upside down looking for them.  I found the motive (something that causes a person to act) that gets my kids going.

It is so easy to look at an overweight person and judge them to be lazy.  Especially if you see them laying/sitting around doing nothing.  Being overweight makes it difficult to do things that thinner people consider easy.  Household chores, walking around the store, or even walking across your livingroom is hard.  It takes overweight people more work to do these things.  Things that are simple tasks for thinner people, can cause back pain, knee pain, breathing difficulty, and other physical stress for overweight people.  Bringing dishes to the kitchen might take a 300 lb. adult the same physical effort that walking 2 miles might take a 120 lb. adult.  Most people won't look at a thin person who refuses to walk 2 miles and think, "Dang she's lazy,"  but they will look at an overweight person who won't get up and walk to the kitchen as lazy.

When you are overweight doctors just love to tell you that you JUST need to lose weight.  'Oh, is that all I need to do?  I'm so glad you told me. Here I thought you had a magical pill that would make everything better.'  They really think we don't know we need to lose weight.  They also really think that we JUST need to eat less.  We know what we need to do, but what we need to do is so difficult that we need to find that motive that makes our desire to do that thing more powerful than the pain and difficulty there will be doing it.  You would think that feeling and  looking better would be motive enough, but for some of us, it's not.  And sometimes that initial motive that gets us started isn't quite enough to keep us going.

What motivated me to get started were several videos I watched online that showed people in the same or worst shape as me and they lost weight by taking baby steps, and not giving up.  I realized that I don't need to do everything at once.  I started with cutting out sugar, then I started eating more veggies, then I went to eating low carb.  When I get close to the weight I want to be I will switch from low carb to other healthier ways of eating. 

After I lost 20 lbs. or so, I got a membership at Planet Fitness, and I started exercising.  I saw the free trainer, there who set me up on a workout schedule.  I took the same baby step approach with my workout schedule.  The trainer agreed that I should start with less sets of reps at first, and work up to the schedule he set for me.  I'm also going just 3 days a week.  I do not need to work myself to death.  Baby steps are better than no steps.

Another motivator in my life, the one that keeps me going, after the initial one got me started, is this site.  Because I told all my Facebook friends and my family about it, I don't want to let them down.  That is why every comment someone makes on my blog helps me to keep going.  I don't want to disappoint you.  So thank you to those of you who care enough to encourage me.  You are my heros.



Leave a Reply.