I'm not a big coffee drinker, but I do love the occasional latte.  Of course, we all know that Lattes have tons of sugar; therefore, they are high in carbs.  Well I found my own little solution to that.  The other day, at Costco, I bought a box of individual vanilla protein drinks that only have 4 grams of carbs.  So I empty 1 eleven once drink into a glass measuring cup.  I heat it for 4 1/2 minutes, stirring every minute (very important step).  Then I pour it over three vanilla chai tea packets, in a small teapot.  I let it steep for 10 minutes, and then squeeze the bags over the pot.  I add one to two splenda packets (still pretty sweet without them) and I stir.  Once you pour it into a teacup you can add a small amount of whip cream if you want, but it's unnecessary.  Whip cream is pretty low in carbs, though.  And there you have it.  It's yummy.  I know it's not truly a latte, given that no coffee is involved, but it's a great alternative.
6/3/2013 12:01:49 am

Sounds yummy, to improve on it, I'd try using a natural, no-cal sweetener like stevia. I tried planting a stevia plant in my yard and the leaves are a tasty treat.

You don't want to ruin your thyroid with artificial ingredients like splenda which is more refined than even table sugar. To save your thyroid, eat wholesome back-to-nature ingredients as much as possible. Other natural sweeteners are raw sugar and date sugar.

http://www.scribd.com/doc/90038022/Dietary-Cures-for-Hypothyroidism-Report-by-Janet-Hailstone

You are right about the whipping cream being low in carbs. It's also low in calories, because so little is used. However, the fat would just get stored on the body since wholesome carbs are the body's first use in fuel and then the fat. The only way to gain weight with carbs is if you exceed your calorie limit for the day then the carbs will get turned to fat.

Wholesome carbs like whole grains, beans, vegetables, and fresh fruit have fiber which carries out the fat and they are low calorie with no fat. They give quick energy for exercise and some stored in muscles but no as fat, only what's necessary. Fat goes directly to storage and is only used when the body's first needed fuel of starch is used up.

Reply
Mary McFadden
6/4/2013 09:46:40 am

Thanks for the suggestions.

Reply



Leave a Reply.