I've always heard the saying, no pain no gain.  One of my sisters said that I shouldn't feel pain when I workout, but I disagree.  When you have spent day after day, year after year, not moving, not getting any exercise, everything hurts when you finally start moving.  There is no way to avoid pain in that circumstance. That being said, there is some pain that you shouldn't feel. Sharp, acute pain is an indicator that you need to lay off of what you are doing.  You could be doing it wrong, or sometimes that area just needs to rest for a few days or more and you need to focus on other areas for awhile.  There are some areas of my body that hurt a lot when I first started working out, but now they rarely hurt, but there are some areas that still hurt. 

There is another type of pain that is part of the challenge of losing weight...emotional pain.  When you start to lose weight is when you really realize what you have done to yourself.  There is a lot of guilt associated with that.  I look back and think, I could have done this 20 years ago, and spent the last 20 years being able to do more with my kids. 

Developing the will power to stick with your plan to change also causes a lot of emotional pain.  Sometimes giving up just seems so much easier.  And it's hard when you look in the mirror and think, It's not happening fast enough. You want to lose everything now.  You want to wake up, look in the mirror, and see that person you are working so hard to be. 

I really appreciate everyone who has taken the time to encourage me, and to just say good job.  I've lost 43 three pounds.  Sometimes that seems like a lot, and sometimes it seems like a little.  When I had lost about 25 lbs I didn't feel like that was very much until my son put a 25 lb weight in my hands and said, "I doesn't feel like  a little bit of weight any more, does it?"  Sometimes you just need help from other people to put things into perspective.
9/7/2020 11:34:55 am

without good amount of exercise, it is impossible to achieve fitness

Reply



Leave a Reply.