Today I begin my journey.  From this point on, everything I do will be for the express purpose of molding myself into the me I want to be.  I want to be happy and healthy. 

Please leave me comments to help encourage me, or to let me know about your self improvement journey.  Let's encourage each other.  My goal is go from 289 lbs. to 140 lbs.  I'm not setting a time limit on this goal.  I think that would only discourage me if I didn't make my goal time. 

I started my journey this morning by doing a short yoga video in bed.  Yep, you heard me right.  I did yoga before getting out of my bed.  It only took about 3 minutes, but it was a great wake up routine.  Below is the YouTube video that I did in bed.  Just this small about of stretching made my shoulder start hurting.  I am that out of shape.

Sandra Keenan
1/4/2013 08:27:21 pm

I am encouraged by you and what you are doing. I know EXACTLY how you feel. I weigh in at 306 and I am so tired of not being able to go to the mailbox without being out of breath. I also have the heart flutter but I take medicine for it. Its high blood pressure.
I fell on vacation about 6 or 7 years ago and hurt my knee so I am limited in what exercises I can do. I am in the process of selling my elliptical machine that I just can't do without my knee swelling up and hurting and when I get the money from that I'm going to buy a treadmill. I used to walk on a treadmill anywhere from 3-5 miles a day and I lost weight doing that but because of my weight they don't last long( hence buying the elliptical with no motor). I have finally decided that if I have to buy one every year thats okay. It will be worth it to have something I can actually get on and do.
I also have recently bought a Richard Simmons dvd and I , suprisingly, enjoy doing it. Haven't really been able to do it regularly tho and haven't lost any weight yet because of it. I'll let you know if that changes.
You are inspiring me to try harder and for that I thank you. Hopefully we'll get in shape together.
Sandra

Reply
Mary
1/5/2013 04:04:15 pm

I too have knee problems. My right knee is the worst. Sometimes they swell so bad that I can't bend them. My back problems are so bad that I can't stand for even 1 minute without really bad pain. I have to walk with a cane. What we both really need to do is go swimming. It's the safest exercise for people like us. A couple of months ago I lost 17 pounds (which I gained back during the holidays). I lost that 17 pounds simply by cutting sugar and soda from my diet. I figured that I would take baby steps. I would remove one or two bad things from my diet at a time. It helps to think that I don't have to do everything at once. So maybe you can start by picking one bad thing from your diet and getting rid of it. Or just adding one good thing. Good luck.

Reply



Leave a Reply.