I gained weight at Christmas time, and then I lost most of it.  Now I've gained back what I lost from Christmas.  I'm at 52 lbs lost from when I first started the diet, whereas I was at 60 lbs lost.  My problems is that I am having a hard time saying no when someone offers me food.  At meetings I will eat 2 cookies.  I have eaten ice cream more times than I should.  I'm not eating super large portions of those things like I once did, but I'm eating more than I should if I want to continue losing weight. 

I've also been working out less.  I'm having a hard time finding time and energy to work out.  I've been stressed out a lot lately, and I feel like that stress is draining me of energy.  If I work out after I get off work, I don't make it home until 7 pm.  Then it's 7:45 or 8:00 pm before I get dinner cooked.  That is really late for eating dinner.  If I eat dinner then work out, I feel like I'm going to hurl.  I like to work out on Sundays, but I often feel too exhausted by the time I do all the grocery shopping, cutting food for the week, and doing a bunch of other errands all weekend.  I also need to buy a really good pair of shoes to work out in.  My feet are always hurting from working out, but I don't have money for expensive shoes right now.

I've read many times that getting enough sleep is vital to weight loss, but I can't.  On weekdays I get 4 to 5 hours of sleep, weekends 6 to 7.  This last week I've been falling asleep early enough to get 6 hours during the week, but I keep having a really restless night of sleep, and I wake up several times during the night.  How do you get your body to sleep more?  I drink almost no caffeine anymore, unless I am eating out.  What else can I do? 

I'm not sure that doing a low carb diet is the best thing for me anymore.  I've been thinking about doing weight watchers or a low calorie diet, but those seem like a lot of work, and I am not sure which is best for me.  I would love to know what you think.  One of the things I am having the hardest time with is cravings for sweets.  Sometimes I feel like I am going out of my mind from cravings. 

Things will probably start looking up since I just let out my problems and frustrations here.  I would love some encouragement from you, my friends. 
Brianna McFadden
3/6/2014 02:34:40 am

Let's go to the gym during Spring Break.

Reply
Mary McFadden
3/6/2014 02:39:33 am

That would be great. I do work next Monday through Wednesday, but I will have Thursday and Friday off. Maybe we can go to the Washington City Rec Center. Then we can work out and swim.

Reply
Janet Walker
3/12/2014 09:59:54 am

I have no advice or experiences to share, but I will send positive vibes/prayers/mantras up for you. You CAN do this...Look at how far you've come!

Reply
Mary McFadden
3/12/2014 12:56:20 pm

Thanks, Janet! That means a lot to me.

Reply
Candace
3/13/2014 09:52:28 am

I'm in this with you, Mary!

Reply
Roberta
3/14/2014 05:26:15 am

Keep it up! It can be done. Just remember: "An arrow can only be shot by pulling it backwards. So when life is dragging u back, it means it’s going to launch you into something awesome!" Emma Callaghan

Reply
Mary McFadden
3/17/2014 12:07:50 am

Thank you Candace and Robert. I love the quote, Roberta. You all are awesome!

Reply
Dianne Hirning
3/19/2014 03:43:27 am

Hi Mary,
I struggle with this too...I try to walk during lunch, but sometimes I lack the motivation to do it because I get tired of going by myself. Would you be interested in walking with me? Even once a week would be good....
Dianne (in the library)

Reply
Mary McFadden
3/21/2014 12:16:19 am

Dianne,

I would love to do that. What time do you usually go to lunch? Most days I go to lunch from 12:00 pm to 1:30 pm. I could meet you at the library at 12:10ish. Would you like to walk sometime next week? Email me at my work email.

Reply



Leave a Reply.