Picture

Before I mention what my new goals for this year are, I want to say how awesome this last year was.  I have learned so much about myself this last year…the most important being that I can take my health into my own hands and heal myself.  There are no doctors or pills that will save me from the destruction my diet and lack of exercise were reeking on my body.  Only I can fix those things.  I have all the power. 

Last New Year’s Day I made a goal of losing weight.  I wanted to lose a total of 149 lbs.  I did not set a time limit on this goal, because I felt that would add unnecessary pressure on an already difficult task.  So in the last year I lost 60 lbs.  I managed to gain back 8 of that over the Thanksgiving and Christmas holidays.  Although I am disappointed that I gained some weight back, I do not feel bad about it.  I knew the holidays were going to make it difficult to stay on task so I started them resigned to the fact that I was probably going to gain 10 lbs. So I did better than I thought I would.  There has been something good that came out of the gain.  It was a learning experience.  It reminded me how much every little pound I lose effects my body.  Adding just 8 more pounds on my body has reminded me how sick I really felt before I lost those 60 lbs.  It reminded me of why I started on this journey to lose weight.  Yes, I wanted to get skinny, but mostly I wanted to feel better.  And with each pound I lose I feel a little better than I did before.  Can you imagine how good I’ll feel when I’ve reached my goal? 

This year I am going to set an actual weight loss goal for the year.  Since I lost 60 pounds last year, I am going to set a goal of losing 60 more this year, and the 8 I gained back.  This will be harder than the first 60 pounds.  The first 20 pounds practically fell away.  It actually gets harder after that.  I have noticed that sticking to my diet is easier when my friends and family encourage me to keep going.  So thank you to everyone who has taken a few moments out of their time to encourage me.  You have no idea how much you have helped me. 

I’d like to share some of the other things I have accomplished in the last year.  I took an online course through Iversity, called The Future of Storytelling.  The homework was optional, but I did it all.  I really learned a lot, and I enjoyed the class.  I spent more time cooking, and less time eating out.  I spent more time out and about than laying around.  I always accomplish a lot at work. I created a budget, and improved my spending habits this year.  I’ve eaten more whole foods and less boxed foods.  I have been happier this last year.

My number one goal for 2014 will be to lose 68 lbs.  Some of my other goals are to spend more time researching how to be healthier, create an exercise routine and stick to it (adjusting it as needed), to spend more quality time with my husband and kids, to spend more time outdoors, and to encourage others to work at improving their health.

I hope to 2014 is everything your are hoping it will be.  I hope that everyone reading this will achieve their goals this year. Happy New Year!




Leave a Reply.