I usually bring some snack to work with me.  I don't like to eat big meals.  I try to eat smaller meals and snack on health foods between meals.  I was so busy at work today that I forgot to have a snack.  I also didn't get enough sleep last night, so when I went home for lunch, I was really tired and hungry.  I was so tired that I couldn't get off the couch to make some lunch.  So when my son, Ryan, got home from school I asked him to run out and get me a Big Mac meal.  Yes, I said it.  I ate a dreaded, unhealthy Big Mac meal. I refuse to feel guilty though.  I'm going to learn from this.  I need to remember to snack when I'm really hungry, and I'm going to try to get more sleep. The sleeping thing will be the hardest.
1/10/2013 03:02:54 am

Way to go on your weight loss journey, half the battle is knowing where you want to go. It's ok if you have a setback, you can take it and learn from it and plan better. This is a learn as you go kind of thing.

I do have some ideas for snacks. The lowest calorie healthy snacks would be just some plain old carrots and celery, you can just grab a stalk or a carrot and was it off, put it in a plastic bag. A snack that is filling and high in fat-burning fiber is sugar snap peas. They are usually bought in a bag a Costco that is ready to go, prewashed, so you can just enjoy it. They are high in protein and sweet for filling you up and tasting good. You will get filled up and love them, I bet.

Another thing that you can do is have some air-popped popcorn, just put in 1/2 cup of preferably organic popcorn from the health food store, Get a big bowl, and plug in the air popcorn popper. Then, get dressed, come back in a few minutes and whala it's all done. Put it all in a gallon sized bag. Don't add butter, sorry you don't need that extra fat. Popcorn can just taste good like it is. But, if you must, the health food store as soy sauce in a spray bottle and you can try that.

Other easy snack ideas are just some plain old sprouted wheat bread - one slice. An apple or other piece of fruit. But, just try to keep your fresh fruits to two a day. And, avoid the cooked fruits, dehydrated fruits and fruit juice - too much sugar, not enough fiber.

Now, you are one day smarter on some healthy weightloss snacks and you can continue on progressing in your journey. See a snack link at http://www.nutribuff.com/weight-loss/snacks-for-weight-loss/

Reply
Mary McFadden
1/10/2013 01:14:26 pm

Thanks for the suggestions Janet. I will check out your site. I have never heard of sugar snap peas. Where do I find them at Costco? I can't eat popcorn because I have Diverticulitis, but I may try your other suggestions.

Reply
Jane
1/20/2013 08:04:05 am

Hi Mary, Glad to see you have lost 8 pounds. That is great. They say in different books i have read a slow weight loss is the best for you. Also the pop thing. I had a hard time with that because diet pepsi was my favorite. I now drink water, water, and more water. I also like those packets to put in your water. I get walmart brand great value. They have a berry pomagranite that it really good. I like the grape energy one also. I now drink that all day at work They say it takes 30 days of changing a habit and then it becomes a new one. I believe that. I try not to say the word diet it is a life style change. I also am a chocoholic. I get the snack size bars to keep in the freezer and i have one small one daily, And now i dont always have that. but i know they are there if i want one and only one a day. I know you can do this. It is very hard but think how great life will be when you get to your goal. Good luck and keep up the good work.

Reply
Mary McFadden
1/21/2013 11:27:49 pm

Jane,

Thanks for the encouragement. I haven't had too hard of a time giving up the sodas. I like those Crystal Light packets that you put in the water. I usually use those at dinner, and drink water the rest of the day. What's really hard is when my kids eat junk in front of me. I've now lost 13lbs. I think that the weight will drop fast in the beginning, just because getting rid of soda and sugar is a major change. I'm actually discovering a love of veggies that I didn't have before. I love snacking on cucumbers the most. I've started adding some arm exercises to my day, on top of very light yoga stretches in the morning. I did some bench presses this weekend, using only the bar. I'm to weak to even add any weights to it.

Reply



Leave a Reply.