This is so hard.  Everywhere I go, I see yummy cookies, cakes, candy, etc.  Sometimes I feel like I am going to crawl out of my skin.  The only thing that keeps me going is knowing how many people I told about me going on this diet, and how many people I showed this site to.  I need some low carb dessert ideas.  I bought a low carb dessert cookbook, but most of the foods in it are only low carb if you eat one small serving.  That is like a tease.  I'm having such a hard time right now. 

I would probably lose more weight if I were to stop eating my cucumbers and carrots with so much ranch, but a girl can only take so much.  Please.  Somebody tell me I can do this.  Tell me it will get easier.
Jenni Lynn
2/13/2013 04:09:00 pm

It's prrrooobably not gonna get any easier - I think accepting THAT fact alone may help you at least begin to shift your thinking toward finding ways to strengthen your resolve so you don't continue down the slippery slope of feeling helpless. Did you get that book from Dr. Peeke yet? She has such a great way of encouraging women on this journey and I am sure she has some great advice on beating food addiction. Speaking from experience conquering any addiction takes a lot of work and a lot of support. Sorry about the "c" word today! Lol - I think we need some sugar free jello in the fridge! Oh - and btw - until you get that book her book on Mental Fitness (on your shelf I think) is a good place to start in helping you shift your thinking to keep yourself moving toward your goals. And yes you CAN do this!

Reply
Mary McFadden
2/14/2013 08:46:50 am

I haven't gotten her book yet. It's still on my wish list on Paperback Swap.

Reply
kimberlytrujillo
2/19/2013 12:18:53 am

You CAN do it! I am struggling with eating issues, eating = run to bathroom. I am going gluten free as much as I can and it is helping. Also, fruit is out. Sent me over the edge yesterday. It is hard to limit and change. No more chocolate. and tomorrow is my birthday.... if I have one slice of cake, will that totally ruin Thursday? is it worth it? I don't know...

Mary McFadden
2/19/2013 12:31:15 am

Happy Birthday! It's funny that you should mention birthday cake. I was just thinking the other day about whether or not I would be able to go without birthday cake if it were my birthday, and I decide the answer was NO. I did notice a gluten free chocolate cake mix in Smith's the other day. It wasn't with the rest of the cake mixes. It was near the flours. It may not be low carb, but it's got to be better than regular cake mix. I may have to try it in April.

I have notice that since I have gone low carb I have had less IBS problems, probably because I'm not eating as much gluten. I am still having diverticulitis attacks. As a matter of fact, I spent the entire weekend really sick. I know that you're not supposed to have popcorn when you have diverticulitis, but I've been eating a cup a day of popcorn the last couple of weeks. It wasn't worth it.

I hope that you can get a handle on your stomach issues soon.

Reply



Leave a Reply.