There is no doubt that exercise is very beneficial. Since I started working out at Planet Fitness my endurance has increased drastically. I can breathe easier than I ever have before, and my back and legs have
strengthened a lot.

Sadly, the longer you remain sedentary the more difficult it is to exercise and the higher risk you have for injury. All those muscles and tendons strongly protest the work you are now making them do, and it's easy to overdo it. That is what happened to me.

I pulled something in my neck and shoulder. I was in so much pain and I could barely move my head or reach across my body. I tried putting ice/heat on it and avoiding exercises that focused on that area.  Nothing helped. I was afraid I was going to have to spend money I don't have and go to the doctor or chiropractor.

Then I decided to try something new. For the last 5 days I have been doing yoga videos my husband Rick has. He has 5 or 6 DVDs, each with 2 workouts on it. Each workout targets a certain area. I've been alternating between the lower back and upper back/shoulder workouts. Boy do they help. My shoulder isn't back to normal yet, but I have a lot less pain and full range of motion again.  All this in 5 days.  Not bad.

Soon I will go back to Planet Fitness. I'll alternate doing yoga and working out at Planet Fitness. If you have aches and pains I recommend that you try doing some yoga. You don't have to do elaborate poses. Find DVD for beginners that targets the areas you really need to work on, and don't be afraid to modify any
poses that you can't do. Most importantly, don't give up. See my links page for links to videos of other people who didn't give up.

Candace
3/13/2014 09:49:39 am

I love Kundalini Yoga. I practice it (with tapes and music), along with daily Qigong, an ancient Chinese practice of intent, breathing, and slow movements. I've had to stop with my recent hip replacement, but I'll be able to start again within a month!

Reply
Mary McFadden
3/17/2014 12:16:30 am

I haven't been doing it as much as I was. I need to start doing it more again. It really helped with all my body's aches and pains.

Reply
Candace
3/17/2014 12:34:32 am

Benja used to teach it at Dixie State and also through Community Ed. Having a class to go to might help encourage you!

Reply
Mary McFadden
3/17/2014 12:42:03 am

I've been wanting to do that. I just can't afford it right now. My bills equal my income right now, but maybe when I pay off a loan of mine I will be able to do that.

Reply



Leave a Reply.